New Brunswick Association of Respiratory Therapists Annual General Meeting Minutes

Date: October 15, 2015

Location: Four Points by Sheraton, Moncton, NB

- 1. **Call to order** -Seana Martin, President of the NBART, called the meeting to order at 1111.
- 2. **Quorum report** The quorum report was given by Troy Denton. Quorum requirements were met.
 - Eligible Members = 343
 - Quorum Requirement = 10% = 34
 - Members Present = 85
 - Members Present by Proxy = 0
 - Total Members Present = 85
- 3. **Approval of the Agenda Motion** to approve the agenda made by Lori Gilles and seconded by Paula Theriault. Motion carried.
- 4. **Acceptance of minutes from October 21, 2014 Annual General Meeting Motion** to approve the minutes of the October 21, 2014 Annual General meeting made by Lori Gilles and seconded by Patrick Hogan. Motion carried.
- 5. **Business arising from minutes of October 21, 2014** nothing identified.
- 6. New Business
 - a. **Executive Report** The Executive report was given by Seana Martin. The Executive report can be accessed here:
 - b. **Registrar' Report** The registrar's report was given by Troy Denton.

Membership Report:

Active Members = 343 Inactive = 24 Associate = 1 Students = 33 Total Membership = 401

Toll Free: 1-877-334-1851 Fax: 506-389-7814 Email: info@nbart.ca



New Brunswick Association of Respiratory Therapists L'Association des thérapeutes respiratoires du Nouveau-Brunswick

500 St. George Street Moncton, NB, E1C 1Y3

Registrar activities since 2014 AGM:

- Member of the NARTRB
- Member of the NARTRB Executive Committee as Secretary
- Co-Chair of the NARTRB Registrar's Committee
- Co-Chair of the NARTRB National Competency Framework Development Workgroup
- NARTRB/Stakeholder /CBRC/CSRT meetings in Toronto, Montreal, Banff, Calgary
- Member of NBNHR
- Registration Management
- Registration Verifications (AIT)
- Labour Mobility Coordination
- Development of IEHP and Return to Work Assessment Processes
- Continuing Competency Program Audits
- Database Design Modification
- Position Statement Development
- Complaints Intake and Investigation
- Horizon Health Network Strategic Plan Stakeholder
- GNB Rehabilitation and Re-Enablement Consultations
- GNB Official Languages Act Consultations
- Website Re-Design
- Implementation of Facebook and Twitter as means of communication
- c. **Financial Report / Treasurer's Report** Chantal Tremblay, treasurer for the NBART, was not present. The financial report was delivered by Troy Denton. The financial report can be accessed here. (insert link) **Motion** made to accept the summary review made by Carolyn McCoy and seconded by Carole Lamothe. Motion carried.
- d. **Committee Reports –** one ongoing complaints investigation. Nothing else to report at this time.
- e. Respiratory Therapy Program Reports
 - i. **NBCC Saint John –** The NBCC Saint John program report was delivered by Christy Bishop.
 - ii. **CCNB Dieppe –** The CCNB Dieppe program report was delivered by Maryse Audet.

Toll Free: 1-877-334-1851 Fax: 506-389-7814 Email: info@nbart.ca



New Brunswick Association of Respiratory Therapists L'Association des thérapeutes respiratoires du Nouveau-Brunswick

500 St. George Street Moncton, NB, E1C 1Y3

- f. **Election of Officers** The nomination report was delivered by Seana Martin.
 - President Rob Leathley resigned as President-Elect prior to the AGM. The Board of Directors voted to extend Seana Martin's term as President until the 2016 Annual General Meeting. Election not required.
 - President Elect President Elect position is vacant due to Robert Leathley's resignation. Nomination received for Pam Taylor prior to the AGM. No future nomination received from the floor. Pam Taylor elected as President-Elect by acclamation.
 - Treasurer Chantal Tremblay completed one year of a two-year term as Treasurer. Chantal resigned as Treasurer effective October 15, 2015.
 Nomination received for Mary Williams prior to the AGM. No further nominations were received from the floor. Mary Williams was elected as Treasurer for a two-year term by acclamation.
 - Directors Two vacant director positions were identified. Three nomination
 were received prior to the AGM: Mike Wills, Tony Robichaud (not present),
 Jennifer Burpee (not present). One nomination received from the floor: Michelle
 Morrison. Election required. Michelle Morrison and Mike Wills were elected to
 director positions for three year terms.

Board of Directors for 2015-2016

President – Seana Martin

President Elect – Pam Taylor

Treasurer - Mary Williams

Director - Mike Wills

Director - Michelle Morrison

Director - Pam Trueman

Director - Heather Kamerman (Public Member)

7. **Adjournment** – Motion to adjourn made by Doug Whittaker and seconded by Lorraine Leger. Meeting adjourned at 1150.

Toll Free: 1-877-334-1851 Fax: 506-389-7814 Email: info@nbart.ca